Term / Tenure

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

The Board of every Institute mentioned in the Second Schedule shall consist of the following members, namely:-

- (a) the Chairperson to be nominated by the Visitor; (Dr. Madhavan Nair Rajeevan, Secretary, Department of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India (interim chairman)
- (b) Secretary, Department of Higher Education, Government of India, or his nominee not below the rank of the Joint Secretary to the Government of India, ex officio;
- (c) Director of the Institute, ex officio;
- (d) Director of Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, ex officio;
- (e) Director of one of the Indian Institutes of Technology, to be nominated by the Central Government; (currently Director, IIT Hyderabad)
- (f) two Secretaries to the Government of India, to be nominated by the Central Government representing its Scientific or Industrial Ministries; (Currently Secretary, Department of Science & Technology & Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion)
- (g) Chief Secretary of the State in which the Institute is located, or his nominee not below the rank of the Joint Secretary to the Government of India, ex officio;
- (h) two professors of the Institute to be nominated by the Senate; (currently Prof. K George Thomas and Prof. MP Rajan)
- (i)two eminent scientists, to be nominated by the Council, having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of education, engineering or science, one of whom shall be a woman; (Currently Prof. Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath, IISc Bangalore & Prof. Bhawana Badhe, JIPMER, Puduchery)
- (j) Financial Advisor, Ministry of Human Resource Development, ex officio;

Term

a)the term of office of the Chairperson or other members of the Board shall be three years from the date of his nomination;

b)the term of office of an ex officio member shall continue so long as he holds the office by virtue of which he is a member:

c)the term of office of a member nominated under clause (f) of section 11and clause (h) of section 11Ashall be two years from the date of his nomination

d)a casual vacancy shall be filled up in accordance with the provisions of section 11or section 11A, as the case may be;

e) the term of office of a member nominated to fill a casual vacancy shall continue for the remainder of the term of the member in whose place he has been nominated

THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

The Finance Committee of Institute consists the following members namely:-

- a. the Chairperson of Board of Governors, ex officio Chairperson; ((Dr. Madhavan Nair Rajeevan, Secretary, Department of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India (interim chairman)
- b. two persons nominated by the Central Government members (Joint Secretary of DHE looking after IISERs and JS & FA, DHE, MHRD – ex-officio)
- c. two persons nominated by the Board members; (Shri. Harikumar S, Retd. Chief Engineer BSNL and Prof. MP Rajan, IISER TVM)
- d. the Director, ex officio; member

Registrar of the Institute is the Secretary of the Finance Committee

(2) The term of office of a member nominated by Board shall be two years from the date he or she is nominated.

THE SENATE

The Senate of Institute shall consist of the following persons, namely:-

- (a) the Director, ex officio, who shall be the Chairman of the Senate;
- (b)the Deputy Director, ex officio;
- (c) the Professors appointed or recognised as such by the Institute for the purpose of imparting instructions in the Institute;

- (d) three persons, one of whom shall be a woman, not being employees of the Institute, to be nominated by the Chairperson in consultation with the Director, from amongst educationists of repute, one each from the field of science, engineering and humanities; and
- (e) the Heads or Chairs of the Departments or Disciplines or Academic Centres or Schools other than Professors;
- (b) the Deans and Associate Deans other than Professors;
- (c) the Librarian of the Institute;
- (d) one Warden by rotation to be nominated by the Director for a period of one calendar year;
- (e) not more than six other members of the academic staff for their special knowledge approved by the Chairperson, Board on the recommendations of the Director for a period of two calendar years or as maybe specified by the Chairperson, Board in this behalf.
- (f) two student representatives specially invited for specific discussion but not involving policy or disciplinary matters in the Senate meetings.

THE BUILDING AND WORKS COMMITTEE

The Building and Works Committee of Institute consists the following members, namely:- (a)the Director, exofficio, Chairperson;

- (b)the Deputy Director, ex officio, member;
- (c)a reputed architect [other than the one hired by the institute for any ongoing work nominated by the Chairperson; Board of Governors, member; (Mrs. Poornima UB, NCBS, Bangalore)
- (d)one person nominated by the Board of Governors from amongst its members, member;
- (e)one Civil Engineer, not below the rank of Superintending Engineer, nominated by the Board from a Government Department or Agency or Autonomous Body, member; ((Shri.V.R.RengasamyNCBS-TIFR, Bangalore)
- (f)one Electrical Engineer, nominated by the Board from a Government Department or Agency or Autonomous Body, member; (Shri.P.Raveendran, VSSC)
- (g)the Registrar, Ex-officio, member.
- (h)the Institute Engineer or the Officer In-charge of Estate of the Institute, as the case may be, Ex-officio, member;
- (i)the Institute Engineer or the officer In-charge of Estate of the Institute, as the case may be, shall be the Member Secretary;

The term of office of an ex-officio member shall continue so long as he holds the office by virtue of which he or she is a member.

The term of office of the other members nominated as above shall be two years from the date he or she is nominated.

THE DIRECTOR

The Director of the Institute shall be appointed by the Visitor on contract basis on the recommendation of a Selection Committee constituted by the Visitor.

The Director shall be appointed for a period of five years and shall be governed by the terms and conditions of the Contract of Service entered into between the Institute and the Director.

REGISTRAR

1. The Registrar shall be appointed for a fixed term not exceeding five years either on deputation or on contract basis. 2. The Registrar shall act as Secretary of the Board, Senate and such other committees to which he may be required by the Act and/or Statutes to act as such.