Prof Tapas K. Manna
Professor (Biology)
  +91 (0)471 - 2778172


Current Members:

Ph D students: Binshad B.; Renjith MR; Resmi Rajeev; Bhagya Lakshmi R; Vishnu M Nair; Ushma Anand

MS project: Anjaly PJ (joining PhD in Indiana University), Arya Krishnan (exploring for PhD position)

Past Members:

PhD awarded:

  1. Puja Singh [post-doc (Curie Institut, France); DST-INSPIRE faculty, CCMB, Hyderabad]
  2. Gireesh KK (PhD awarded)
  3. Geethu Emily Thomas (Post-doc at Univ. Health Network, Canada)
  4. Hindol Gupta (Post-doc at National Institute of Health, U. S. A.)

Project Fellows:

  1. Ria Gupta
  2. Suhail T. V.
  3. Sreeja J. S.

MS project students:

  1. M. Arunkumar (doing PhD at Univ. of Cincinatti, USA)
  2. Ranjith Viswanathan (doing PhD at EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany)
  3. Reshma Kurup (doing PhD at Indiana University, USA)
  4. Jessy Varghese (doing PhD at Univ. of South Carolina, USA)
  5. Steny Simon (doing job in private company)
  6. Ananya Asmita (doing PhD at StonyBrook University, USA)
  7. Mirsana PE (doing PhD at Max Planck, Munster, Germany)
  8. Chithran VM (doing PhD at IRB, Barcelona)
  9. Aparna A (doing PhD at Dartmouth College, USA)
  10. Sujaya T. (NCBS)
  11. Anjana A. (Univ. Illinois, Urbana Champaign)
  12. Laya Suresh (PhD at TU, Dresden)
  13. Haritha Chandran (offered PhD at TIFR)
  14. Madhukrishna KU (exploring for PhD abroad)
  15. Devu Priya MS (exploring for PhD)

Awards/recognitions :

  1. Tapas Manna received S. Ramachandran National Bioscience Award 2019
  2. Tapas Manna received international funding from Cancer Research Institute, Kanazawa University, Japan for collaborative research in 2018 and 2019.
  3. Geethu Thomas (Phd student) awarded with Lady Tata Memorial Fellowship by UK Cancer Research Society.
  4. Geethu Thomas (PhD student) awarded with the prestigious Princess Margaret Post-doctoral Fellowship (2016) in Canada.
  5. Puja Singh (PhD student) awarded with the prestigious La Ligue Contre le Cancer post-doctoral fellowship (2016) in France. She is also a recipient of “Prix Georges Calothy” by the Ligue Nationale Contre le Cancer, France.
  6. Geethu Thomas received poster presentation award in “Chromosome Stability 2014” meeting at JNCASR, Bangalore.

International travel grants for PhD students attending conferences/training/research:


  • Hindol Gupta and Binshad B have received EMBO Travel grants for conference in Heidelberg, Germany in Sept 2017.
  • Renjith MR visited Kanajawa University, Japan with a fellowship for international workshop on advanced atomic force microcopy.


  • Geethu Thomas received travel award for Cell Biology meeting at Israel


  • Puja Singh received EMBO travel grant for conference in Germany